Every worker is guaranteed to be paid a minimum wage. Federal law requires that employees be paid $7.25 per hour. New Jersey law, however, requires that employees be paid $8.38 per hour. There are a variety of ways that employers will fail to pay a minimum wage. For example:- Your employer may deduct breaks that you never took from your pay.- Your employer may not pay you for all compensable time.
– If you are a tipped employee, your employer may improperly distribute your tips.
– Your employer deducts costs you were forced to incur for your job.
– Your employer forces you to work off-clock when you are not being paid.
– You are not paid for time attending pre or post shift meetings, or break deductions.
– Your employer has a “rounding policy” that benefits the employer, and not you.
Additionally, employees are protected from retaliation for good faith complaints about minimum wage violations. Retaliation can take the form of unfair discipline, demotions, or termination.
Wage and Hour actions can be pursued on a individual or class action basis. Many times, an employer will fail to pay minimum wage for many of the employees in a particular location, and the best way to pursue those wages are in one class action.
Our New Jersey Minimim Wage Attorneys work closely with our clients to analyze their pay history and pursue all of the wages that are owed to them.
Free Consultations Are Available
If you believe that you have not been paid correctly, fill out my contact form or call 856-235-7075 to schedule a free initial consultation with a one of our skilled wage and hour lawyers in Mt. Laurel.